Gluten Savvy

  • Posted by Dr. Jay Gordon

The following is a list of ingredients and foods that many people don’t realize have gluten. Avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivities:

• Bouillon cubes and broths
• Dairy substitutes, such as nondairy creamer
• Rice mixes
• Potato chips
• Hard candy
• Licorice
• Jelly beans
• Cold cuts
• Hot dogs
• Salami
• Sausage
• Communion wafers
• French fries
• Gravy
• Imitation fish
• Matzo
• Sauces
• Seasoned tortilla chips
• Self-basting turkey
• Soups
• Soy sauce
• Vegetables in sauce
• Salad dressings
• Dry-roasted nuts
• Miso
• Soba noodles

The following have gluten or gluten byproduct:

• Artificial color
• Caramel coloring
• Hydrolyzed protein, plant protein, vegetable protein
• Dextrin
• Modified food starch
• Natural flavors, flavoring and juices
• Spice blends
• Smoke flavoring
• Stabilizers
• Emulsifiers

Thanks to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004, it is easier now to identify wheat-containing ingredients: if a food or an ingredient contains wheat or protein derived from wheat, the word “wheat” must appear clearly on the food label.

So read your food labels closely!